SECTION 2.0 SUSTAINABLE MANAGEMENT STRATEGY

2.1 HISTORY OF SETTLEMENT AND DEVELOPMENT

The Hawke's Bay region was originally settled by the people of the Waka Kurahaupo. The Captain, Whataonga, whose descendants were known as 'the people of Toi', arrived in approximately 970, with the Waka Takitimu arriving in approximately 1350. The son of the Captain of this waka, Rongokako (Sleeping Giant) is represented by the silhouette of Te Mata Peak, which is today a significant landmark of the Hastings District. The Hawke's Bay region is however traditionally the home of the Ngati-Kahungunu Maori people, who settled in the region in approximately 1520.

The settlement of the region in these early days was based upon the abundant food supplies in the area, with the rivers and coastal flats providing rich fertile soils for growing native crops, together with the abundant fish and bird life, meaning that the area was highly valued by the Maori people.

The first evidence of European settlement in the region is in the late eighteenth century with the arrival of whalers and traders, who set up stations along the coast, at Te Awanga, Clifton and Waimarama. Following these came the missionaries, and by the 1840s and 50s, white settlers were moving into the region in large numbers, many of whom were eager to acquire land. Through a series of land purchase transactions carried out by Government agents, most of the region soon passed into European ownership, generally in large blocks. By the end of the 1850s nearly half of the area in the region was in European ownership, with the majority of this land used for sheep stations or for pasture.

In 1852 six provinces were established throughout New Zealand, of which the Hawke's Bay was the north eastern corner of the Wellington province. This early form of government throughout New Zealand presented problems to the Hawke's Bay, as decisions regarding the region were made in Wellington, meaning that locals had little say in its management. However, in 1858 under the New Provinces Act, Hawke's Bay achieved separation as a self-governing District. This provincial system was however abolished in 1876 with the passing of the Counties Act which established 63 counties throughout the country. The first County Council for Hawke's Bay was elected on December 28, 1876.

In 1860 the Hawke's Bay Provincial Council laid out the town of Havelock North on the main road south of Napier, as a service centre for the Heretaunga Plains. The name commemorated General Havelock, with the word North added later to avoid confusion with a settlement of the same name in the South Island. Two decades later the railway from Napier began, with a proposed route through the centre of the Heretaunga Block. It was here that the railway station was built in 1873 due to the gift of land to the Government by owner Francis Hicks. Land was subsequently subdivided around the station, signifying the beginnings of the town of Hastings. The naming of the town commemorated Warren Hastings, the first British governor-general of India.

Following the construction of the railway, Hastings grew to be a town district in 1883, achieving Borough status in 1886. The rapid growth of Hastings compared to the slower growth of Havelock North is attributable to the location of the railway and the central location of the town in relation to the plains. The disastrous 1931 earthquake led to significant rebuilding of the central business district. City status was achieved in 1956.

The history of Hastings, which developed as a service town for its surrounding hinterland, has largely been determined by changing land use on the plains. Until the development of refrigeration, the town serviced pastoralists when wool and tallow were the main sources of income. With refrigeration, three meat freezing works were established on the outskirts of the town at Tomoana, Paki Paki and Whakatu, and butter and cheese factories built. Commercial orchards began to develop in the early twentieth century adding apples and pears to an export market of meat, butter and cheese. Hastings is the second largest producer of grapes and wines, and New Zealand's largest producer of apples, pears and peaches. Accordingly, Hastings has been dubbed 'The fruit bowl of New Zealand'.

The reorganisation of local government in 1989 was one of the most comprehensive in New Zealand history. It involved the rationalisation of about 650 local authorities into 80. As part of this reorganisation, three Council's within the region, Hawke's Bay County, Hastings City and Havelock North Borough, were amalgamated to form Hastings District. Small areas of Central Hawke's Bay, Rangitaiki and Taupo were also incorporated into the new District, which today covers over 500,000 hectares.

Hastings District is a major producer of primary products based on its unique combination of soil, water and climate resources. Horticulture and viticulture continue to expand beyond their traditional base on the Heretaunga Plains, and in the northern part of the Hastings District, commercial forestry is developing as a major land use.

Hastings has developed a significant processing, manufacturing and commercial centre, handling the production of the region, and providing the service and infrastructure to support a growing community. Whilst the City maintains its strong connection to the rural hinterland for its economic well being, it has developed into a substantial urban centre in its own right. Havelock North has continued to develop as a dormitory suburb, but has also managed to protect its 'village' image. Havelock North is also recognised throughout the country as a centre for private education. The suburb of Flaxmere, established throughout the 1970s and early 1980s, has also continued to develop, and is characterised by its wide social and cultural diversity.

Smaller settlements throughout the Hastings District have grown on the coast as holiday places, around the traditional marae settlements and as rural service centres. Initially established as whaling stations during the settlement of the District, Haumoana and Te Awanga grew up as seaside resorts, largely for Hawke's Bay residents. In recent times more permanent dwellings have established in these small communities, which also offer a range of basic community and commercial services. Other coastal settlements throughout the Hastings District include Whirinaki, Waimarama and Waipatiki, all of which maintain relatively small populations with limited community facilities. The four small marae based communities of Bridge Pa, Omahu, Waipatu and Paki Paki are also located within the Hastings District. These communities have strong hapu affiliations, and are characterised by a centrally located marae surrounded by Papakainga development.

The Hastings District has a population (1996) of 66,280 people, which is predominantly European, yet comprises a large number of Maori, Pacific Island and other racial groups. The local Tangata Whenua of the District, Ngati-Kahungunu have very strong spiritual, cultural and historical links with the environment. There are twenty-four active marae in the Hastings District and numerous sites of great importance to the iwi, and to the whole community. Further information on the local Tangata Whenua of the Hastings District is outlined in Section 3.0.

The establishment of Hastings District has provided the community with the opportunity to comprehensively address the development, and management of the Hastings District's natural and physical resources. It will enable the adoption of sustainable regimes that will ensure the ongoing prosperity and development of the district and region, into the next century.