skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:

Rubbish & Recycling Rubbish & Recycling

Entries open for inaugural Hawke's Bay Heritage Awards


Today heralds the launch of the Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards – a significant new programme designed to recognise and celebrate those whose talents and energies preserve our region’s cultural heritage.

Entries open today, with the inaugural Heritage Awards due to be presented at a gala ceremony at Toitoi Municipal Building on Wednesday, November 9, 2022.

The Hawke’s Bay Regional Heritage Awards is being established by the region’s five Councils and the Art Deco Trust, with additional support from Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga, Historic Places Aotearoa, Historic Places Hawke’s Bay, and Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated.

Hawke’s Bay Regional Heritage Awards chair Barbara Arnott says the awards programme is an exciting opportunity to celebrate and nurture the preservation of Hawke’s Bay’s cultural heritage.

“The people who called Te Matau a Māui / Hawke’s Bay home in the past have left their mark on the place we all call home today through their sites of significance, the places they built, the artifacts they left behind and the stories they told.

“Their legacies gift us our sense of place, our sense of belonging and our sense of identity. They tell the stories of our past and our progress as a region.

“The Heritage Awards are our opportunity to recognise the hugely talented people and organisations throughout Hawke’s Bay who preserve and conserve this vital heritage for all of us to enjoy and experience.” 

To be held every two years, the Awards recognise excellence in heritage and history conservation, heritage tourism and heritage storytelling, and will promote the values of world-class heritage retention and conservation to the wider community.

A judging panel of nationally recognised and skilled heritage experts will decide the winners across eight award categories.

Mrs Arnott said she and the organisers anticipate the Awards will draw considerable interest from the region’s heritage sector and she encourages people to visit for entry details.

“Nominations are now open until 31 August 2022, so we encourage people and organisations check out the Award categories and to submit their entries. Being the inaugural Awards, we expect the 2022 event will set a high bar and provide much-deserved recognition for those who inspire us to connect with our past."

10 August 2022

Back to Archive


Hastings District Council - Copyright © 2024 Hastings District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hastings District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hastings District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hastings District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hastings District Council - / +64 6 871 5000 /