skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:

Rubbish & Recycling Rubbish & Recycling

Departing Hastings councillors farewelled at final meeting for triennium

departing councillors

At its last full council meeting ahead of the close of the voting period for this year’s local government elections, Hastings District Council today farewelled five councillors who are not seeking re-election with this council for the next term.

Hastings mayor Sandra Hazlehurst said all five had made a huge contribution to the council and Hastings as a whole during their time, adding to the efforts of the others around the table from 2019-2022.

“My thanks go to all who have served the council and community over the past three years, including our councillors, staff, Rural Community Board, Heretaunga Takato Noa Māori standing committee, and our iwi and government partners.

“We have achieved a lot in what’s been an exciting time for Heretaunga Hastings.”

The departing councillors are Henare O’Keefe, Bayden Barber, Geraldine Travers, Peleti Oli and Sophie Siers.

First elected in 2007, Mr O’Keefe is the longest-standing of the five councillors, and Mrs Hazlehurst said that over the past 15 years he had cared for others and given devoted, loyal service to the Flaxmere community and the wider Hastings district.

“Henare’s passion and dedication has significantly enhanced the wellbeing of his beloved Flaxmere whānau – all with the unwavering support of his beloved Pam. He has championed the ‘It’s Flaxmere’s Time’ project, bringing new houses, a new supermarket and a fabulous new skate park to Flaxmere.

“As Hastings ambassador he has hosted many civic and citizenship events in his true all-embracing, full of fun, and ever-loving style.”

Recently appointed Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Inc chair Bayden Barber is standing down after six years on council, prior to that serving as an elected member of the Rural Community Board.

Mrs Hazlehurst said he had made a strong contribution and held key leadership roles for council’s priority projects, including safe drinking water, homes for our people and district growth management.

“Bayden’s drive to include strong Māori representation across council and the community has resulted in Hastings/Heretaunga’s first Māori ward, Takitimu, and he has passionately contributed to council’s cultural awareness of Te Tiriti o Waitangi and its growing inclusion of te reo Māori throughout the organisation.”

Geraldine Travers has also served six years, and demonstrated a strong advocacy for community projects and plans, as well as contributing to preserving the district’s history, Mrs Hazlehurst said.

“Her committee leadership and governance across council’s services, projects and programmes has been invaluable. She has advocated passionately for the needs and aspirations of a Mahora Community Plan and led the development of council’s Multicultural Strategy – her dedicated service is appreciated.”

Elected in 2019, Flaxmere councillor Peleti Oli was a true community champion, particularly in being a voice for the Pasifika community, Mrs Hazlehurst said.

“As council’s first Pasifika Samoan councillor, Peleti has strengthened the relationship between our Pasifika community and council by introducing new Pasifika and multicultural celebrations to the council chamber.

“He’s also championed ‘It’s Fabulous Flaxmere’s Time’ and shown his love for his people through many community events including the first Fia Fia Day, and at times giving free haircuts to raise money for his community. We are grateful for the difference he’s made.”

Sophie Siers is leaving after one term, to run for election on the Hawke’s Bay Regional Council.

Mrs Hazlehurst acknowledged her contribution to improving the district’s environmental health through the Eco Districts committee, and strong support for community initiatives.

“Sophie has led Kahuranaki’s aspirational community plans and championed the Waimārama Pou and Gateway project. She’s a committed conserver and protector of our natural resources and has also been a valued member of the Rural Community Board.”

Voting for the next triennium closes on October 8. It is now past the date when people can post their voting papers, but they can still drop them off at the big orange voting bins at the Hastings District Council building on Lyndon Rd, and the Hastings, Havelock North or Flaxmere libraries.

Go to the council website for other locations for special voting.

4 October 2022

Back to Archive


Hastings District Council - Copyright © 2024 Hastings District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hastings District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hastings District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hastings District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hastings District Council - / +64 6 871 5000 /