skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:

Rubbish & Recycling Rubbish & Recycling


Election results finalised

Hastings District Council’s election results are in, with Lawrence Yule again elected mayor.

The 14 councillors joining him at the council table are: George Lyons, Rod Heaps, Ann Redstone, Jacoby Poulain, Henare O'Keefe, Sandra Hazlehurst, Malcolm Dixon, Kevin Watkins, Damon Harvey, Geraldine Travers, Bayden Barber, Simon Nixon and Adrienne Pierce. Tania Kerr was elected unopposed in her electorate.

The Hastings District Rural Community Board members were elected unopposed: Nicholas Dawson (Kaweka Subdivision), Peter Kay (Maraekakaho); Mick Lester (Poukawa); Susan Maxwell (Tutira).

The Flaxmere Licensing Trust members, also elected unopposed, are Martha Greening, Susan Hopkins, Warwick Howie, Kenneth Kibblewhite, Bertram Lincoln and Jacob Poulain.

The final results have been announced (October 14, 2016).

The full results are:

Hastings District Council

2016 Triennial Elections

Mayor                                                               Votes Received


YULE, Lawrence                                                11,533

WELLWOOD, Guy                                             7,988

PIERCE, Adrienne                                             5,053


INFORMAL                                                          43

BLANK VOTING PAPERS                                 465


Heretaunga Ward (2 vacancies)             Votes Received


HEAPS, Rodney                                               2,357

REDSTONE, Ann                                              2,075

WHAITIRI, Jason                                               2071


INFORMAL                                                        5

BLANK VOTING PAPERS                               131


Hastings-Havelock North Ward (8 vacancies)     Votes Received

HAZLEHURST, Sandra                  Independent              8,878

DIXON, Malcolm                                                                   8,336

HARVEY, Damon                                                                  7,915

WATKINS, Kevin                                                                   7,869

BARBER, Bayden                                                                 6,788

TRAVERS, Geraldine                                                           6,678

PIERCE, Adrienne                                                               6,324

NIXON, Simon JH                                                                 6,320

BRADSHAW, Wayne Lindsay                                            5,692

MACKINTOSH, David                                                           5,644

PERLEY, Chris                                                                      4,206

MCHATTIE, Graeme                                                             4,092

PORTER, John                                 Independent              2,134


INFORMAL                                                                                   19

BLANK VOTING PAPERS                                                       414


Flaxmere Ward (2 vacancies)                            Votes Received


POULAIN, Jacoby                                                                 1,429

O'KEEFE, Henare Ngaera                                                   1,210

AITCHESON-JOHNSON, Lynlee                                             632


INFORMAL                                                                                  1

BLANK VOTING PAPERS                                                         24


Kahuranaki Ward (1 vacancy)                            Votes Received


LYONS, George                                                                     1,479

PERRY, Stuart                                                                           557


INFORMAL                                                                                    0

BLANK VOTING PAPERS                                                       178


The voter return was 46.78%, being 24,860 votes, plus special votes.


Jackie Evans

Electoral Officer

Hastings District Council

14 October 2016


4 October 2017

Back to Archive


Hastings District Council - Copyright © 2020 Hastings District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hastings District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hastings District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hastings District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hastings District Council - / +64 6 871 5000 /