skip to main content skip to main menu


people three

The Hastings Youth Council

Hastings Youth Council LogoThe Hastings Youth Council meets regularly to provide a voice for young people. It works on youth-related projects and advises Hastings District Council on issues that affect our district's youth.

The Youth Council's role is to:

  • give a youth perspective on issues
  • promote and encourage youth involvement in planning and developing Council services
  • make sure the views of young people are canvassed and passed on to the Council
  • give advice on planning and infrastructure, particularly relating to any direct impact on young people
  • give input relating to policy and strategic development

Youth Councillors are expected to attend monthly or fortnightly meetings, help organise the Youth Potential awards, take part and attend events that have been confirmed by the Youth Council and attend an overnight retreat. 

There is a maximum of 15 members, and membership should be representative of:

  • gender
  • mixed abilities
  • geographical location
  • educational level
  • employment / unemployment
  • diverse cultural backgrounds

 2017 Youth Council

RytashaRytasha Sekhon
Hastings Girls High School
HannaHanna Wrigley
Hastings Girls High School
RosePelerose Vaima’a
Hastings Girls High School
GraceGrace Peia
Hastings Girls High School
OliviaOlivia Campbell
Havelock North High School
EllieEleanor Matich
Havelock North High School
EllaElla Hoogerbrug
Havelock North High School
HamishHamish Legarth
Havelock North High School
LiamLiam Davies
Karamu High School
ReubenReuben Lyndon
Karamu High School
BethanyBethany Cox     
Karamu High School
CalvinCalvin Herbert
Hastings Boys High School
FaithFaith Gill     
Flaxmere College
DylanDylan Bishop
St Johns College
AntoniaAntonia Richardson 
Rudolf Steiner
SamanthaSamantha Anderson
Sacred Heart
MaxMax Sharp


 Thank you to last year's Youth Council:

Dylan Bishop (St Johns), Nickylee Anderson (Sacred Heart), Isla Christensen and Summer Wynyard (Karamu High), Kyle Brittin and Gerard Chesterman (Lindisfarne College,) Faith Gill (Flaxmere College), Emma Cameron, Rytasha Sekhon, Inderpreet Kaur, Grace Peia, Hannah Kupa-Elliott and Madeline Jones (HGHS),  Bridget Perkins and Abby May  (Woodford House), Antonia Richardson (Rudolf Steiner),  Calvin Herbert (HBHS), Sophie Parsons (Iona College), Sarah Bradey (Havelock High), and K-Ci Williams (EIT).

Contact us

If you want to talk to the Hastings Youth Council contact us on phone +64 6 871 5000 or email

Related Documents

There are no documents related to this page.

Related Pages

There are no pages related to this page.

57 page views for the last 30 days

Share this page
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Share by Email

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hastings District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hastings District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hastings District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the Hastings District Council information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hastings District Council - / +64 6 838 7309 / Fax: +64 6 838 8874